Stallion

Upon the endless prairie
where time stands still
we clash in an eruption
of hooves and desperation

Kick me in the jaw
and I’ll kick you right back
this is my home
I won’t give it up

Sand hisses
like venomous snakes
beneath us as we struggle
churning up the days

I can keep this up for a thousand years
raging against your blows
here is my line in the sand
and you will not cross it

Women watch us
their fates tied to the victor
a story as old
as the distant mountains

My herd gives me strength
you crumble into dust
and the next contender
arrives to take your place

Leave a Reply

