Ratel

How can I make my skin bullet proof like yours?
Wound after wound
inflicted but never cutting deep

How can I defy death like you?
Fighting giants
who turn into mice
and scurry at the sight of you

How can I be resilient like you?
snarling at self-flagellation
clawing, biting, tooth, nail
until doubt is dead

How do I show the world I’m not afraid?
When you wear it like a golden cloak
swagger and not give a damn
drunk on pride and bravery

How do I find my place?
in a wilderness of desolation
you dig deep
carve out a home

Show me what it means to be courageous
Show me what it means to leap into the unknown

And I will be proud of who I am.

Leave a Reply

