Assisi

He walked among honeysuckle
seeing divine providence in
smallest of creatures

He picked little flowers
felt miracles in each petal
holy truth at his fingertips

He heard a choir of chirps
wait for me while I go to preach to my sisters the birds
they wreathed him in song and protection

He strode into jaws of death
Brother Wolf I would like to make peace between you and the people
The beast bowed his head low

He lived for Creation
prayed for stewards of Earth
He sought no riches
wished no fame
left behind his teaching

Nature is God’s mirror.

3 comments

  1. When I was quite a young child, I read a book about St Francis of Assisi and I’m sure it was the beginning of my own caring for all animals and nature. I was enthralled with this man who loved animals and nature with such a passion.
    Because of this very special man, I see the beauty in the most simplest of things like a flower or a leaf, and feel compassion for all living things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

