My Head Is An Animal

My head is an animal
raging against the uncertainty
of a half-life

My knuckles beat against
invisible glass
bloodied and bruised
with the effort to escape
from this skeletal prison

I create war zones with a word
Smile through rabid teeth
Hunger for self-assurance
Screech and rattle bars

Hoping to catch a glimpse
of the spark I see in others
reflected in myself

Within the jungle
I face competition
from my own worst enemy
This shadow self
is a venom
a cancerous growth
I want to cut out

Kindness will be my knife
Courage will be my balm

Until the lion has had
the thorn pulled from his paw
and the roar of his self-worth
chases away the clouds.

Leave a Reply

